Poison and Wine

“I wish you’d hold me when I turn my back
The less I give the more I get back
Oh your hands can heal, your hands can bruise
I don’t have a choice but I still choose you”

The Civil Wars became my new favorite band when I heard their song “Barton Hallow” on VH1 top 20 count down. They were spotlighted on “Artists you oughta know.” As embarrassed as I am to admit this, I have to thank VH1 on this one. The moment I downloaded their album, I was transfixed. Between their lullaby voices and almost disturbingly truthful lyrics, their songs cut right to the soul. Even if you’re not an emotional music listener, their music is good enough on its own. They’re minimalist, just a duet of beautiful voices and a guitar. Theirs the kind of sound that will rock you to sleep after a breakup or reward you after a long tough day.

Much thanks to Greys Anatomy, Vh1 and The Hunger Games Soundtrack for giving this duo the props they deserve.

As the Civil War’s favorite quote goes: “Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle”

Leave a Reply

