Day One

image

So Saturday began the big transformation. Step 1: priming the wood panelling.
I just picked up a can of Kilz oil-based primer from Lowes. My room is in the basement where there is no ventilation and I think I was a bit “paint happy” by the time I was done, if you catch my drift. I would highly advise spending the extra $3 for the odorless kind. All my research said the wall just needed a light coat of primer, so the job doesn’t have to look particularly clean.

20130625-125707.jpg

If ever using oil-based paint, keep in mind it does not come off brushes or skin easily. I didn’t even want to deal with cleaning the brushes so I just used inexpensive ones that I could toss. It took me a few showers scrubbing my skin with baby oil to get the paint off my legs and arms. If I were to do it again, I probably would have been a bit neater through this process.

The room already looks bigger and brighter with just one spotty coat of primer so I can’t wait for the final results.

I tried to paint today, but it turns out the paint color we bought is a bit too dark. I’ll be making a trip back to Lowe’s tomorrow morning to try again!

In the mean time here is a little DIY makeover I gave my old laundry hamper using spray paint and the fabric purchased at JoAnnes:

20130625-130122.jpg

All you need is two cans of spray paint, about 1/2 yard of fabric, and a staple gun. Too easy! If you have any questions about this just let me know!

 Check back at the end of the week to see some more progress!

xoxo

3 thoughts on “Day One

  1. Hello! My name is Katy and I am the social media coordinator for KILZ brand products. We understand that our KILZ Original oil-base primer is not the most pleasant primer to work with because of the smell, but it was one of the recommended products for dark paneling. Since your basement is not well ventilated, we do recommend our water-base KILZ Premium as a substitute to Original for this type of job as well. We cannot wait to see the finished results and we’d LOVE for you to share your experience with our products by writing a review. Simply click on this link, select the product used and write/submit a review: http://bit.ly/WpAXp6

    We appreciate the feedback! If you ever have any questions on our products or on your next painting project, please contact us directly at ask@kilz.com. Thanks!

    • Hi Katy! Thanks for the feedback! I definitely am happy with the product I used, just wanted to reiterate exactly what you said. Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

