Bonnaroo Breakdown

Aloe Vera and anti-itch crème line the sink. A razor and scrub brush sit aside me on the ledge of the bathtub.This is the aftermath of Bonnaroo. As many others are likely nursing a four-day hangover and various foot and fungal infections, I wont complain. My sister, 25, and I decided to buck up and take advantage of our fleeting youth (aka fleeting vacation days. Boo grown-up life) by attending Bonnaroo this year. Needless to say, I was thrilled to have an excuse to not wash my hair or wear a bra for days at a time.

My sister (right) and I waiting for Chromeo to start on day 3 of Bonnaroo

Given the heat and our neurotic tendencies instilled upon us by a mother with a perhaps less than healthy fear of death, we partied far less than your average Bonnaroovians. (We gave our cheap beer and lukewarm tequila the good ole’ college try) But we still managed to have a more-than-decent time. All in all, I’d give the weekend a gold star considering the opportunity to spend four days in a tent annoying my big sister, a favorite personal past-time, and, of course, the opportunity to hear dozens of my favorite musicians in one of the most magical settings known to man!

Of the 20+ artists on our to-see list, here are my personal standouts and must-see’s:

 Valerie June

This Tennessee native is about as sweet as it gets. No words can do her justice.

Valerie June along side her younger brothers (CC BY-NC-SA 4.0)

Valerie June along side her younger brothers (CC BY-NC-SA 4.0)

 

 Chromeo

This duo is nothing less than funky, shout out to my sister for enlightening me to these butt-shaking jams

Carolina Chocolate Drops

From the heart of North Carolina, this amazing quartet fills their shows with a mix of foot-stompin’ bluegrass and history.

Carolina Chocolate Drops rocked the big stage despite the heat. (CC BY-NC-SA 4.0)

Grouplove

They don’t need much explaining. One of the few good reasons to jump and dance in 90 degree heat.

Bronze Radio Return

One of my latest favorties, Bronze Radio Return, put on an absolutely fantastic live show.

Bronze Radio Return closes the Miller Light Stage. (CC BY-NC-SA 4.0)

Ms Mr

Another new find thanks to big sis. Add it to the booty-shaking playlist!

The Head and The Heart

Last but not least the most heart warming group yet. All the feels were felt.

 

The pearly gates.

 

And, alas, its back to real life!

Leave a Reply

