Dear Future User

The year is 2214, and your computer’s dusty hard drive has just resurfaced at an antique store. Write a note to the curious buyer explaining what he or she will find there.

As November is national novel writing month and I am not quite ready to tackle that beast, I’m taking it upon myself to commit to writing a little bit every night this month. I can be pretty bad about writing for fun as often as I should. I spend the majority of my day writing in class and at work, so by the time I’ve finished exercising, cooking, cleaning and homework at night I tend to veg out before falling asleep. Well, veg no more I say! I may not post every day, but I will find time to write for myself every day – even if it’s just 15 minutes!

Today I’ve turned to The Daily Post‘s daily writing prompts for a little inspiration.


Dear User,

If you’re reading this, you’ve managed to access my hard drive 200 years from now. I won’t ask you how because, well, I hope to god I’m far too dead and gone to hear the answer. You see, 200 years would just be too long to live. While I write this note to you harvesting a million fears of all the things I’ll never have the time or the chance to do, I still do not see what I’d do with 200 years. Too much would change.

But I digress.

Welcome to my horizon. I apologize for what is undeniably an unorganized mess of files, especially in comparison to whatever technology you’re used to. What probably just looks like a collection of half-written word documents and unimpressive photographs is the documentation of all of my efforts to be someone in this crazy world. In what is sure to be a terrible disappointment to you, you’ve managed to unlock the door to all my would have, could have and should have’s, my maybe’s and might be’s and want to be’s. I am, at this point, no one of great consequence or fame. I’m not very impressive and I don’t have much in the way of my legend. I say this knowing that my change by the time I am dead but it’s not everyone’s job to be particularly memorable. I’m not sure if I will ever be someone that leaves a ripple effect beyond my loved ones, so you probably know the importance of all these files better than I. Even if only you find something here of interest, I guess that means I managed to leave some sort of legacy? If only by chance? But like I said, this hard drive is full of all of my attempts to become someone: stories, poems, papers, photos and videos from my college years and soon to be young professional career.

Beyond that, I’m not sure if this was really a worthwhile purchase. At the very least, I hope it will make a neat addition to the antique collection above your fireplace (do they still have those?)

Buyers, Beware?

Leave a Reply

